04.30.2003 9:02 a.m.
Sad news and frustration

I talked to my cousin last night, and she informed me that our grandma put her house up for sale a few days ago. It made me sad! I practically spent entire summers in that house, and on their lake! I'm planning on being cremated and having my ashes spread on the lake when I die, damn it! How am I going to do that if she sells the house?

But, when she told me that our grandma said that watching her neighbors go out on their pontoon and fish made her miss my grandpa worse than she had any day before that, I understood. It would be difficult to stay in a house where you spent so many wonderful years with your husband, and in which your husband then passed away. Reminders would be everywhere...

I just hope that it takes a while to sell so that we can all have one more summer of going up there to go swimming. I want to start at the back steps of the house, run all the way down the lawn, and dive off the dock into the water below, like I've been doing since I was very young. I just promised my step-daughter the other day that we could go up there and go swimming again. I really hope I was telling the truth...

------------------------------------

I'm conflicted about what classes to take in the fall. I'm already signed up for General Chemistry I, but I REALLY, REALLY want to take Elementary Russian. It would fit into my schedule, but I sure as hell don't have the money for it, and I'm pretty sure that taking classes 4 nights a week (including one night of Lab until 10 pm) wouldn't be the best thing for someone who is already burning out from school. I'd rather take Organismal Biology, because I want to take another Biology class, but of course there's only one section available, and it's during the day, when I'm working.

I really hope everyone who gets to experience the whole "full-time student, funded by their parents, 4 years of college done IN 4 years" thing appreciates it. (Pardon my bitterness.)





|

back | forward

Site Meter