04.08.2003 9:26 a.m.
The "Eh, whatever..." group

Please go here to check out my listings on eBay.

-----------------------------

Tonight I have my Intro to Poli Sci class. In the beginning of the class, we were divided up into three groups. Each group lives on an island with a different climate. There's the sand people, the grass people, and the forest people. I am one of the sand people. Our group cracks me up every time we meet. There are about 4 people that actually give a rat's ass what we're doing, and the rest of us just sit around and go along with what the people who care say. Overall, we're the most easy-going group out there. We're esentially the "Eh, whatever" group. The other groups get into screaming matches. We don't care enough to yell at each other.

One of the first times we met, we were supposed to figure out what we were going to do for clothing, shelter, and food. We have goats on the island, so we decided we'd eat those. We also thought we'd fish. As far as clothing, for some reason we're wearing some - grass skirts and coconut bras. Most of us were okay with just wandering around naked, but somehow we got vetoed. Must have been one of the weeks I was *ahem* sick. Shelter? I had to laugh when the whole class got together again after the discussion in groups, and the other two groups were talking about building certain kinds of shelters. We were like, "Umm...we're living in the palm trees." No shelter of any kind. We're just living in the trees like monkeys. *grin* Well, it's close to the water. We do have our reasons, you know.

Our version of marriage is funny, too. We have a "love the one you're with" policy. *grin* Since we have no shelter, I suggested a "Sex Tree." You have to go behind that tree to have sex.

Mostly it's funny to meet with my group because of this strange love connection that seems to be forming between the "Guy Who Won't Shut Up" and the "Aggressive Lady." It's like a sociological study to watch them. It's a mating dance...

Or maybe I'm just easily amused.

I found out last week that one of the weeks I was gone, my group had decided to build a wall. Why? I have no freaking idea.

Last week my professor informed us that more people had magically shown up on the island, and that there are 10 people who follow each one of us. It's supposed to change our views of government, religion, marriage, etc. Ours? Didn't change so much. We decided that we're going to keep our gods, and that the new people will worship each one of us as deities. We also decided to make them do most of the work for us. *grin* We are LARGE AND IN CHARGE, damn it!

Then he asked about shelter. One guy said, "We're still living in the palm trees!" I said, "Yeah, but we have a wall now!" This was followed by hysterical laughter from the people sitting near me.

All we know is that it's unfair that the forest island has hallucinogenic mushrooms and we don't. We have a horse. You can't get loopy off a horse, now, can you?

Life, even pretend life, is so unfair...





|

back | forward

Site Meter