02.24.2003 8:59 a.m.
Shopping and Swappingtons

Before I get into anything, I just want to let everyone know that I am offically a sheep. I joined the Swappingtons revolution. You can find the stuff I have listed so far here. I am ashamed for people to see how many contemporary romance novels I have, but it's all in the interest of getting rid of them, so it's okay I guess. I should tell you that my husband and I have two bookcases with 5 shelves each. He only has one shelf on one bookcase for his books. I have the rest. And all my books don't just fit neatly on the shelves. There are quite a few shelves that have stacks and stacks of books in front of the other stacks and stacks of books. I have somewhat of an addiction to reading. Working at a bookstore for 3 years, and getting a 30% discount on books didn't help. So, I'm doing my best to get rid of the old before I buy new stuff. I'll be posting about 20 other books in the next few days. Keep checking. Oh, and if you want to sign up, be sure to say I referred you, so I can get some points out of it. My username there (of course) is "sciencegirl."

------------------------------------

I went shopping this weekend. I have a love/hate relationship with shopping. I HATE bra shopping and bathing suit shopping. They impact my self-esteem in a negative way. I'm not what you would call "well-endowned in the chestal area." I sort of resemble a 13-year-old girl. "The Boob Fairy never came for me." You get the picture. So, bra shopping is one of the things I like least. Which is probably why my bras have been falling apart for the past 6 months, and I've not cared enough to buy new ones. I must enjoy being poked by my underwire day after day or something. (It's that little piece of masochist in me.) But, I'm happy to report that this weekend my husband and I went to the mall, and I did buy some new bras (while hubby said he was "going to go look at STUFF"). AND, I didn't even tear up while I was in the dressing room. Hooray for me! My chest size shrank a bit, but my cup size is still the same tiny A. At least I'll never sag!

The good part of clothes shopping is that since I've lost weight, I can fit into smaller sizes. I tried on a suit, and had to come out to show my husband, and do a little dance while singing "I can fit into a size 5/6! I can fit into a size 5/6!" It was a good feeling. :-) I didn't buy the suit, as I have to make my car payment this week, but I think I might have to go back and buy it at some point. It was cute.

------------------------------------

In bat news, we finally figured out where the bats were coming in. One of the basement windows was open a crack. Mystery solved! So, my husband stuck some insulation in the window, and made sure it shut all the way. We'll have to replace them pretty soon. They're old, and icky, and not functioning very well. I feel SO SAFE in a house where the windows don't shut all the way. *sarcastic grin*

---------------------------------------

Damnit. I've been at work for an hour. I suppose I should actually start working...





|

back | forward

Site Meter