02.20.2003 9:17 a.m.
Marriage

I learned something new about my husband last night. We were talking on the phone, as we usually do at night, and for some reason we got on the topic of tonsils. Oh, because my throat hurt like I'd been eating fire, and I was saying how I couldn't believe with as huge as my tonsils have always been, that the doctors hadn't taken them out a long time ago. Then he told me that he had his tonsils and adenoids taken out when he was younger. I never knew that. (Of course, I don't spend a whole lot of time inspecting his mouth carefully, so I have a reason.)

I just think of that as one of the fun parts about marrying someone a year and a day after our first date. We still have so much to learn about each other. I mean, we know pretty much all the basics, like who the other person's friends were growing up, where they went to school, family stuff, things like that. But I just think it's cool that we'll get to spend the rest of our lives discovering the little facts, the little stories that other people might know after dating for like seven years, THEN getting married.

Now, I'm not saying "Hey, run right out, meet someone, go on a date with them a month later, buy a house together after 4 months, get engaged after 6 months, and married a day after your year anniversary." What works for me may not work for you.

One of my fears growing up was that I would marry someone, and after being with them for 40 or so years, we would just run out of things to talk about. I once saw an older couple in the waiting room at my eye doctor's office who sat in silence for a good twenty minutes before the wife finally said, "You know, I think soup sounds good for lunch." The husband agreed, and they went back to sitting in silence. I didn't ever want to end up like that. I wanted to be with someone that I could have intellectual conversations, passionate debates, and soul-baring talks with for the rest of our lives.

I'm sure I've found that person. We don't know ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING about each other, so we will be able to discover things about each other for years to come. Our wedding vows were: "I, ____________, take you, ____________, as my friend and love, beside me and apart from me, in laughter and in tears, in conflict and tranquillity, asking that you be no other than yourself, loving what I know of you, trusting what I do not know yet, in all the ways that life may find us." I think that describes perfectly what I had been looking for all my life.

I'm so glad I found my husband...

Just to make you say "Awwww" even more, here's a picture of my husband's and my first kiss as husband and wife:





|

back | forward

Site Meter