02.10.2003 9:08 a.m.
Running and running and running

I am incredibly tired this morning. (That seems to be a theme in every entry, doesn't it?) I woke up this morning when the alarm went off for my husband to wake up at 5:45 am, and couldn't get back to sleep after that. Joy. One full hour before I actually had to get up. I love that. He kept hitting snooze. Eventually I had to tell him, "Look, I can't go back to sleep until you get up because I'll be worried that you'll be late. Get out of bed." He finally got out of the bed. And then I still couldn't get back to sleep (which caused me to feel somewhat guilty about kicking him out of bed when it didn't do me any good anyway). So, I'm tired today.

I had a pretty good weekend. I made quite a large purchase yesterday. I bought a treadmill. I've been dying to get one for many moons now, so I finally decided that I'd just suck it up and get one. I originally started out looking for a $430 one. Then I decided that the $430 model didn't have enough cushioning. (I have the knees and hips of an 87-year-old woman. I need padding, otherwise I'll screw them up even more than they already are. I want to get into shape and get skinny. Not debilitate myself.) I ended up getting the $649 model. I was in shock at the cash register. The man ringing me up said, "Your total comes to $690." I just looked at my husband with my mouth open. Then the sales guy asked for my address. I was stumped. Too shocked to remember it. I had to ask my husband to tell the guy our address. It was pretty amusing.

Then we had to go on a hunt for a truck because the treadmill was not going to fit into my car. I called my parents, whose neighbor lets them borrow his Suburban occasionally, and asked them if he might let me borrow it for 45 minutes or so. Long story short, he did, and we picked up the treadmill at the mall and took it to our house, where we then spent about 20 minutes completely taking it out of its box outside, and commenting on what a weakling I am as we lugged the thing inside. The cats immediately started to sniff it to try to figure out what the hell it is.

I got to use it last night after we got back from dinner with my cousins. It's a wonderful piece of machinery. I love being able to run, inside, where it's warm. I ran for 20 minutes and burned 236 calories. Yeah, me!!

Damn I'm tired. Must get back to work. My officemate is out sick today, so it's just me. Joy. No slacking for me today! Well, I must limit my slacking anyway.





|

back | forward

Site Meter