03.28.2005 2:42 p.m.
Purely puppy news

After speaking to my ex again on Friday evening, as well as e-mailing with him on Saturday, this is what's going on:

-The vet assured M that Irish would be an EXCELLENT candidate for surgery. She said the pup might be feeling much better as soon as 2 days after the surgery.

-The pain meds seem to be working pretty well. The puppy is pretty much taking it easy and laying around, but she still has the energy to jump up onto the bed at night to go to sleep and to follow M around throughout the day.

-The wetting problem might be due to either pain or estrogen depletion, both of which are very treatable.

-Her surgery is scheduled for Monday, April 4th. She's supposed to take it easy until then.

-I'll be going to visit her sometime this week. YAY! I really need to get over there to see her more often. I miss her when I don't.

So, there you have it. She's a tough girl and a fighter, and she seems determined to make the best of the situation. Hopefully the surgery will work wonders and she won't have any other major incidents.

So far the chondroiton she's been taking for her arthritis has been working, so that therapy will continue after surgery. (And once again, I'm taking the same drugs/herbs/minerals as my dog. We did it once before with Benadryl.)

Luckily, the toys I got her for her birthday are all mainly chew toys, so she won't feel the need to try to romp around or anything.

I'm feeling much more hopeful about the whole puppy situation now than I was before. Thank Allah. Hopefully my faith in the surgeon/surgery will not be for naught.

Thanks for all the support and good thoughts. M and Irish and I appreciate it.





|

back | forward

Site Meter