06.21.2004 4:36 p.m.
Animal updates

So, to update...

Az seems to be a little bit better. She's not crying NEARLY as much, and I haven't found any puddles of pee anywhere lately, so I'm assuming the few doses of drugs that she's had are helping. (Of course, she could have peed somewhere that I haven't found yet, but she hasn't done it in the usual places, so I'm hopeful.)

From an e-mail my ex sent on Saturday:

"Just thought I'd let you know that Irish made it thru the surgery. The lab results won't be back for another week. She has two nicely shaved and stitched patches on each flank. Not too bad really. She was really out of it yesterday evening and is still pretty slow this morning. She didn't even get up when I got up this morning and, just now, as I got back from breakfast she didn't even get off the couch to come greet me. Poor pup. The vet said that she has to rest for several days (no park or playing) and then come in to get her stitches out. So we'll see.... She is wagging her tail so I figure she'll be back to herself as soon as she feels like it."

From an e-mail he sent today:

"I'm cursed. Irish was a basket-case on Saturday, better on Sunday. This morning, however, there was blood and nastiness on the sheets. Apparently she had taken it upon herself to take the stitches out. Now we've got a bit of swelling and tenderness. I took her to the vet so I can give her drugs to avoid infection. Plus, you guessed it, "the collar." She is walking around and crying and banging into everything. I'm going to have to repaint. Her head does look cute framed in a cone but it is nothing I'd wish on anybody. It's freakin' huge! This will be my life for a week. I'm going to need pills to sleep tonight."

Irish has never liked leaving anything the vet does to her alone. When she broke her toenail down to the quick, the vet bandaged it up. It took her maybe half a day to rip about 10 layers of tape and gauze off so she could get to her wound to lick it. She knew she could fix it better than leaving it alone would.

And now this. Luckily he's stronger than I am when it comes to her "I'm such a sad puppy" act. He'll probably leave the cone on. I'd be tempted to take it off.

Poor puppy. I hope the results come in quicker then they expect, and that they're good.

We'll see, though...





|

back | forward

Site Meter