01.24.2003 8:32 a.m.
The Cats Are SO Helpful!

A little background for you: We have two cats. We adopted the first one late last summer. Her name is Callie, aka Fat Cat, Beast, Princess, Kitten, the cat. She's a medium-hair black cat with green eyes. A few months later, we adopted Azrael, aka Little Fox, Little Beast, tiny girl, the other one. She's another medium-haired black kitty, but she is TINY and has yellow eyes. She resembles a fox in the way she looks and moves. Her eyes look more like a wolf's eyes, though. I swear she has some prairie dog in her, too, due to her ability to stand up on her back legs for several minutes at a time.

They're like dogs. If we're all downstairs, they follow me upstairs to make sure they don't miss anything exciting. They also follow me on the off chance that I might be going to the bathroom so they can go get a drink out of the sink.

So, last night, I decided that I was going to circuit train. I would run the stairs for 2 minutes at a time, then do 30 crunches, 5 push-ups, 15 leg lifts on each side, butt exercises, etc. Then start over, add some free weight stuff, etc. The cats got really confused by the running the stairs portion of it.

At first, they would follow me up and down the stairs. Coming down the stairs was difficult because I had to look out for them to make sure I didn't step on anyone, or trip on them and kill myself. Then, they decided that was just silly, since they weren't getting a drink or anything out of it. Eventually they decided to just sit in the middle of the stairs and watch me as I ran by. This contributed to the difficulty of it. Eventually I had to jump OVER a couple steps, just to make sure I wouldn't jump on them and squash them. It's a good thing the cats are exceptionally cute. Otherwise I would have thrown them in the basement and shut the baby gate at the top of the basement stairs.

The good news is that I worked out on and off for about 3 hours last night, though. Yeah, ME!





|

back | forward

Site Meter