06.17.2003 8:47 a.m.
Kitty insanity and lawn care

Someone needs to explain the concept of the snooze button to my cats. They just don't understand. They don't understand that the first alarm is just sort of a "Eventually you're going to have to get up" warning type thing. I hit snooze when the first alarm goes off at 6:40 AM. Then, when it goes off again at 6:49 AM, THAT'S when I actually get up.

They hear the first alarm and think "She's getting up! One step closer to feeding us! Wooo!...Oh wait. She hit a button. She's going back to sleep! What the hell? We'd better make some noise so she gets up." Then they proceed to jump up and down off the headboard, knock things off the nightstands, try to rip up various pieces of paper around the room, and do other evil things. I've tried explaining, I've tried begging. Nothing works.

This morning I actually found myself saying, "Please...just 4 more minutes. Come on! Then you can be evil! Just let me sleep for 4 more minutes!"

------------------------------------------------------

Last night, I finally mowed the lawn. It was becoming a jungle. The actual grass isn't that long, but there's long thingies in it. I was highly traumatized when I was mowing my usual 3 or so rows in the back of the backyard (so I don't have to walk under the trees to turn the mower around) and I saw a dead baby bird lying there. I ended up just mowing around it. It was so sad, though...

The funny thing about mowing the lawn was the paper boy. I was doing the side yard, when this boy on a bike in the driveway got my attention. I turned off the mower, and he said, "Oh, I just wanted to let you know I left a paper on your front step."

I said, "Oh. Okay. Thanks!" I turned the mower back on, and he continued on down the street. I saw him again later, with a friend this time, delivering papers on the other side of the street. They both rode by on their bikes about three times, with the paper boy's friend completely turned around on his bike, staring at me.

Okay, first of all, I didn't look that great last night. I was wearing a tank top and denim shorts (which were pretty short I guess, but still...) and white socks and tennis shoes. And my glasses. Woo woo! Hot mama! Watch out! Heh. Not so much.

Secondly, they were boys on bikes. I'd guess their ages to be about 13 or 14. TOO YOUNG! Hello? Blah.

Thirdly, be a little more subtle! Riding by repeatedly while BLATANTLY STARING at me isn't exactly cute or endearing. It's creepy. Take a picture. It'll last longer.

*shudder*

It worries me to think what these boys will be like later on in life.

------------------------------------------------------

Happy Tuesday, ya'll!

------------------------------------------------------

If you missed this entry from last night, be sure to check it out!





|

back | forward

Site Meter