12.04.2006 7:57 p.m.
I haven't been dead...REALLY!

So, you know how you thought I was dead?

Well, I'm not.

I've just been very, very busy.

Doing what?

You know how I used to talk (write) about how much I hated my job and how miserable I was and how very frustrating it was?

Well, on September 1st of this year I worked my last day at my damn hell ass job. Then I thanked my lucky stars that I survived 5-1/2 years there without either ending up in jail for murder or conspiracy to commit murder or knocking myself comatose by banging my head repeatedly against a wall.

THEN, on Tuesday, September 5th, I became a full-time student. I am ACTUALLY a full-time student, for the first time ever. No more of this part-time-fit-it-in-around-work crap. I'm taking 3 classes this semester, which actually ends on the 19th, so there's only a few weeks left. The classes I'm taking this semester are Organic Chemistry I, College Physics I and American Government.

I'm going to cheat by copying and pasting from an e-mail I sent a former co-worker where I described how my classes were going. Ready?

Classes are...okay overall.

American Government is a breeze - well, except for the fact that my teacher keeps talking about how he's presenting totally unbiased information so we can make our own decisions, and then starts spouting information that has the underlying message that DEMOCRATS ARE BAD AND WANT TO RUIN YOUR LIVES. Grr...I'm trying to figure out how long I can keep my mouth shut before I need to start presenting information from "the other side." :-)

Organic Chemistry um....sucks, sort of. (Edit while posting this entry: No, actually it sucks REALLY REALLY badly. It may kill me.) Some of the stuff we're learning about I can hear and think, "Oh, I remember that from Gen Chem. Hooray!" Other stuff I hear and it makes a) my brain totally shut down, OR b) me want to sit in the corner and cry, OR c) me want to completely rethink my major, since I'm MAJORING IN SOMETHING I TOTALLY DON'T UNDERSTAND. We have a quiz on Wednesday on nomenclature (naming of compounds) and structures of various things and I'm very, very scared. Luckily I only have one class for an hour and twenty minutes tomorrow so I'll have many hours to study my stuff. (Edit: Ha! I didn't really study enough and I failed that particular quiz! Woo!)

Physics is not bad, except for the fact that Trigonometry is a pre-requisite for the class, and guess what I haven't had yet? Luckily there is a guy named XXXXX who is in both my Organic Chem and Physics classes who is willing to help me out by explaining what I need to know in order to finish assignments. Bleh. Other than that, it's quite a lot of math, but at least I actually understand what's going on. Praise the Lord!

So, there's that. Physics and Organic both suck, but at least I have a chance in hell of understanding Physics stuff at some point. The best part? I get to take the second semester of both classes next semester! Woo!

But, I had my Organic Chem Lab final today and it wasn't that bad. I have only two tests left in American Government, including one this Thursday, and the last test is just the last test - it's not a cumulative final like my other classes. I have my final in Physics on the 13th of December. My final in Organic is on the 18th of December. I am scheduled to start freaking out and possibly hyperventilating about that particular final once my Physics final is done.

Then I'll have a fabulous 20-something days off between Fall and Winter semesters so I can spend some quality time with my husband and family and any friends who happen to come into town near the holidays. Woo!

I've also been doing other things besides school, like re-decorating the office/now My Room of a Thousand Uses; sewing little things like items of clothing, soft pillow covers made of fleece and the occasional cat nip pillow; selling new and gently used brand name and designer clothing on MySpace (e-mail me if you want the link - put MySpace in the subject line so I can find your message easily); and trying to pare down all of my various collections - including BOOKS, which anyone who knows me can tell you is miraculous.

So, that's me.

What have you been up to?

Listening to: a mix CD my brother-in-law made
Reading: Nature Girl by Carl Hiaasen
Feeling: excited


|

back | forward

Site Meter