02.22.2006 10:00 p.m.
After a long radio silence...

Wow. It's been QUITE A WHILE since I've written here. I've been blogging on myspace occasionally, but haven't had a lot of time for much else.

What have I been doing?

*~*~*Going to school. My professor rocks and I love my Chemistry class. I actually laughed so hard in class on Tuesday that I was CRYING. My lab partner was totally cracking me up.

*~*~*Spending the last three months with nearly constant intense ear pain and pressure, despite 3 trips to the doctor. This last visit (Friday the 17th) finally netted me a referral to an ENT, who may or may not want to put ear tubes in again. I'm hoping there's another (100% guaranteed, non-surgical) option that will involve instant relief, not to mention a sudden magical increase in my ability to hear um...ANYTHING. Instead of relying on lip-reading about 20% of the time, as I had been for years and years, I'm now relying on it about 80% of the time. I can sense everyone around me getting more and more frustrated with how often I say, "What?" or "Sorry?" Or maybe that's just me.

My ENT appointment is on March 7th, so that's when I'll hopefully find something out. My second doctor's appointment was with a Nurse Practitioner, who finally realized that me having to take 1000 mg of ibuprofen every few hours was probably not good, so she prescribed some Vic0din. It's really effective and helps tremendously in regards to the pain, but I don't have that many pills, so I'm trying to conserve them.

Bah. This is no way to live. I want to write a strongly-worded letter to the first doctor I saw, who gave me a two-week prescription for Allegra-D and told me that ibuprofen should take care of any pain I experienced. Basically he said, "Eh, you're fine. Walk it off!" And that was when I went in the first time, after I'd been in pain for a month and a half. Righty-o, dude.

*~*~*Working my ass off at work, with the whole new system they established on January 31st. There was a rough week and a half in there where I was doing the work of two people, until they figured out that while I was stressed as hell and way overworked, a co-worker kept complaining about how BORED she was. They ended up giving half of my workload to her, so now we're all about even. Well, except my officemate, who gets treated like the guy she's working with's bitch, instead of his assistant. Mr. Science Girl asked me last night if I had a good day at work yesterday, and I told him that lately I don't really have good days at work...I just have days that suck less than others. Bottom line? The beginning of September can not come soon enough for me.

But...Weetacon 2006 IS coming up soon!! Hooray!

And, since it's now 11 PM, I should go to bed! I'll see some of you in a couple of days!

Listening to: True Life - I'm a Competitive Eater on MTV
Reading: I Know This Much Is True by Wally Lamb


|

back | forward

Site Meter