02.21.2005 10:19 a.m.
Numbers

12 PM: Time we wanted to leave by on Friday

2 PM: Time we actually left

1: Number of rest stops where we stopped and ate

1: Number of times we missed the exit to a service plaza/rest stop we wanted to go to

1: Number of times I contemplated whether a paper bag or an empty soda can would be better for me to pee in, due to missed service plaza above

5: Hours spent driving through the flat farmland of Ohio

2: Times I said "Holy God, we're all gonna die!" while on the road, due to my husband's exciting stunt driving.

3,957,486: Times my husband told me to "Stop picking!!!!"

12: Hours spent listening to Sirius satellite radio channel 147 - Raw Dog Comedy over the weekend

10: Out of 10 on a scale of how surprised my sister was to see us in Pittsburgh

1,000,000: Number of children at my niece's birthday party

3: Glasses of wine consumed by me in an attempt to block out the noise of 1,000,000 children (and because it was good wine)

2: Number of gifts from my sister, husband and I that caused Sophie to tell my sister to "Open it!"

8 PM: Time the party wrapped up and we headed back to the hotel

10:35 PM: Time we went to sleep, because we are old, and because large groups of children tend to wear us out

1 PM: Time we were aiming to leave Pittsburgh by

1:47 PM: Time we actually left the mall and got on the road

3: Kinds of weather we drove through...rain, sleet and snow

3: Cars/SUVs that we saw flipped upside down in a ditch on the highway

1: Accident we saw as it occured

5: Other small accidents we passed on the way home

4: Times I tensed up like I did while watching The Day After Tomorrow, only it was more frightening because I thought we might actually lose control of the car, slam into something and die

8:15 PM: Time we made it home last night

All in all, it was a great weekend!

And now...back to the grind.

Listening to: John Mayer - Heavier Things
Reading: Me Talk Pretty One Day - David Sedaris
Nail polish color: OPI Galapa-ghost


|

back | forward

Site Meter