02.16.2005 4:03 p.m.
Lunch squick and Nerdiness

I had an interesting experience at lunch today.

I was sitting at Culver's with my (lovely) husband, eating a Walleye sandwich. It was pretty tasty and I was enjoying it.

UNTIL, I had this little epiphany where I realized that this thing I was eating used to be a fish. It used to have a face. It was probably just swimming along all happy as can be, until the fateful day when someone came along with some bait on a hook. Then Mr. Fishy was no more.

I have no idea where this came from. Normally I can hoover a fish/chicken/beef sandwich down in no time, especially if I'm really hungry. "Yep. It used to be an animal. Too bad for it, 'cause now it's my lunch."

This time, though, I just got squicked out by it. (To use a Weetabix term.) I tried to finish it, but I just couldn't.

IT USED TO HAVE A FACE, for criminy's sake!

I'm still not sure if this was a quick trip back into the time when I was a vegetarian, or what. Flashback? Food flashback? Post-traumatic-eating-a-fish-sandwich disorder?

Eh, I don't know. All I know is that I think I'll be sticking to my delicious chicken tenders from now on.

*shudder*

***********************************************************

Has anyone else seen the commercials for those new Tylenol Extra Strength Rapid Release Gels?

Does anyone besides me want to buy a package of them...but only in order to throw them in water to see how fast they dissolve?

Every time that damn commercial comes on, I find myself wondering if the temperature of the water makes a difference in how quickly they dissolve. I wonder if different things added to the water (i.e. vinegar) would make a difference. I wonder if I'm a giant Science Nerd Girl for even wondering these things.

Then I admit to myself that yes, I am a giant science nerd. And I go back to wishing I had a box of that stuff to experiment with.

***********************************************************

Dear uterus,

Please stop trying to tear me apart from the inside. It's thoroughly unpleasant. Feel free to do what you have to do, but try doing it without making me pray for death. Or a vat of Midol. Or a Vicodin IV.

Sincerely,
In Pain

***********************************************************

I think I've been watching too much CSI lately. Every time I come across a weird stain/spot/whatever anywhere, I want to swab and analyze it.

I seriously need to go back to school, where I can spend time among my fellow nerds, instead of being out in polite society where I have to attempt to be or look normal.

Even if I do fail miserably at hiding my nerdiness.

***********************************************************

Dear Brain,

Please, for the love of all that is holy, stop repeating Pinocchio saying "I'm a real boy!" over and over and over. It's getting annoying. Just stuff that shit back into whichever dusty closet in my brain that you got it from. Soon.

Sincerely,
Going Nuts

(If you missed it, the first entry from today is here.)





|

back | forward

Site Meter